Sacred Heart Church Newhaven

  with Denton

THE YEAR OF OUR LORD  2017

Ordinary Time – Winter
Sunday 1 January 2017 - Mary, the Holy Mother of God
Sunday 8 January 2017 - The Epiphany of the Lord
Monday 9 January 2017 - The Baptism of the Lord
Wednesday 25 January 2017 - The Conversion of St Paul

Lent
Tuesday 28 February 2017 - St David, Patron of Wales (transferred)
Wednesday 1 March 2017 - Ash Wednesday, (Fasting and Abstinence)
Friday 17 March 2017 - St Patrick,  Bishop, Patron of Ireland
Monday 20 March 2017 - St Joseph, Spouse of The Blessed Virgin Mary (transferred)
Saturday 25 March 2017 - The Annunciation of the Lord
Sunday 26 March 2017 - Mother's Day
Sunday 9 April 2017 - Palm Sunday of the Passion of the Lord
Thursday 13 April 2017 - Holy Thursday (Maundy Thursday)
Friday 14 April 2017 - Good Friday,  (Fasting and Abstinence)
Saturday 15 April 2017 - Holy Saturday

Easter
Sunday 16 April 2017  - Easter Sunday
Monday 24 April 2017 - St George Patron of England (transferred)
Tuesday 25 April 2017 - St Mark, Evangelist
Wednesday 3 May 2017 - SS Philip and James,  Apostles
Sunday 28 May 2017 - The Ascension of the Lord
Wednesday 31 May 2017 - The Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Sunday 4 June 2017  - Pentecost

Ordinary Time - Summer
Sunday  11 June 2017 - The Most Holy Trinity
Friday 16 June 2017 - St Richard of Chichester, Bishop, Secondary Patron of the Diocese
Sunday 18 June 2017 - The Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ -"Corpus Christi"
Friday 23 June 2017 - The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus
Saturday 24 June 2017 - The Nativity of St John the Baptist
Thursday 29 June 2017 - SS Peter and Paul,  Holyday of Obligation
Tuesday 11 July 2017 - St Benedict, Abbot, Patron of Europe
Sunday 6 August 2017 - The Transfiguration of the Lord
Wednesday 9 August 2017 - St Teresa Benedicta, Virgin and Martyr, Patron of Europe
Tuesdday 15 August 2017 - The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Holyday of Obligation

Ordinary Time - Autumn
Friday 8 September 2017 - The Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Thursday 14 September 2017 - The Exaltation of the Holy Cross
Thursday 21 September 2017 - St Matthew, Apostle and Evangelist
Friday 29 September 2017 - SS Michael, Gabriel and Raphael, Archangels
Thursday 12 October 2017 - St Wilfrid, Bishop, Secondary Patron of the Diocese
Wednesday 18 October 2017 - St. Luke
Thursday 19 October 2017 - St Philip Howard, Martyr, Co-principal Patron of the Diocese
Saturday 28 October 2017 - SS Simon and Jude,  Apostles
Wednesday 1 November 2017 - All Saints     Holyday of Obligation
Thursday 2 November 2017 - The Commemoration of all the Faithful Departed (All Souls)
Thursday 9 November 2017 - Dedication of the Lateran Basilica
Sunday 12 November 2017 - Remembrance Sunday
Sunday 26 November 2017 - Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe
Thursday 30 November 2017 - St Andrew, Apostle, Patron of Scotland

Advent/Christmas
Sunday 3 December 2017 - First Sunday of Advent
Friday 8 December 2017 - The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Monday 25 December 2017 - The Nativity of the Lord (Christmas Day), Holyday of Obligation
Wednesday 27 December 2017 - St John, Apostle and Evangelist
Sunday 31 December 2017 - The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph
Monday 1 January 2018  - Mary, the Holy Mother of God